abtwixt

Doing things differently since 1984

Honorable Mentions

I must apologize for my virtual absence from all things WordPress lately – both in my own posts and in comments.  I should be able to get myself back on track this week.

See, I have a confession to make…. I do nearly all my WordPress stuff from work.  Hopefully, no bosses/coworkers read this, or if they do, they have not yet worked out my Secret Identity.  Normally I just have that much extra time on my hands (because I am THAT efficient!), but this past week happened to be particularly busy.  This will probably happen again every 3 months.

But anyway, first things first – I have been nominated for an award… twice!!  Specifically, this one:

As far as I can tell, “nominated” means either “won”, as in everybody wins, or “will never win”, as in the nomination is pretty much as far as it goes.  But even though it’s not the Oscars, I still can’t help but blush with heartfelt gratitude to UnfinishedBizness and LBTK.  Yeah, you heard me – you should go check UnfinishedBizness out and revel in her hilarity and awesome storytelling, and then check LBTK out and smile at her warmth and passion.
The rules for accepting this award are as follows:

1. Thank the award-givers and link back to them in your post.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Pass this award along to 15 (or so).
4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award

So, to fulfill my duty as a good award-winning blogger, I bring to you 7 random things about myself:

1. I am a Lord of the Rings fanatic.
    I read the books about 14 years ago – long before the movies came out – and was hooked.   Well, almost.  At first I read up to where Gandalf “died”, and was so upset I threw down the book and refused to pick it up again until I peeked ahead and found he had somehow rematerialized.  I saw each of the movies a bazillion (approx.) times.  I even read The Silmarillion and some of Tolkien’s other less well-known writings.  Basically, I am certifiable “nerd”.  Or would that be “geek”….?

2. I never want to own an expensive car.
    Fortunately (I guess), I’ve never earned enough to make this come into question, but even if I earned millions, I’d still want an average kind of car.   Is it for some fantastic economical reason?  No.  I just don’t want to be judged as rich, or have a target over my head if I wander into a bad area of town.  Plus, I have a bad habit of ending up in (all right, “causing”) fender-benders.

3. The Pacific Northwest is like my paradise.
    I say “paradise” in an Earthly way, not a religious one… But I spent 3 years of my childhood in Oregon, and still carry with me many fond memories of ubiquitous waterfalls, swoon-worthy mountains, cool lava tubes, amazing greenery, fresh berries that just pop up randomly, and a good down-to-earth attitude from the majority of people around me.

4. I was almost a Music major.
   In high school, I lived for music.  I was in all the best choral groups, worked at a music store, wrote music, played music, recorded music, took (and aced) a college-level Music Theory class, earned a heap of awards and stuff.  I got accepted into my university as a Music major.  Then, as fate would have it, I ended up with nodes (blisters) on my vocal chords, and my music track came to a screeching halt.  I ended up fairly randomly picking History as my major, which got me on an exchange program with England, which found me my husband and some of the best years of my life.  Funny that.

5. I am jealous of stay-at-home moms.
   I’m probably definitely not the only working mother to think this.  I work for one reason only: to provide my kids/family with what they need.   If anything happened where they could get what they needed without me working, I would quit in a heartbeat.  I have two young kids who haven’t even started preschool yet, and I know that I’m going to miss those precious few years of being their primary influence.  I’m not saying that stay-at-home moms don’t have a tough job — I fully admit that my stay-at-home husband works much harder than I do — but I’d do anything for that tough, but infinitely more fulfilling, job.  There is a part of me that wants to tell feminism to shove it, so that I can be left alone to raise my kids, cook our dinners, clean the house, and just generally be a mommy.

6. I don’t curse/swear (out loud).
    I don’t do this to be pompous or anything, and I don’t really mind when [adult] people do…  I just was raised not to, and never bothered to rebel against that.  Eventually, I had kept it up for so long that I turned it into a conscious decision.  I figured that I did enough things wrong…. Might as well keep that one little thing right.  I kind of like the innocence that comes with never having crossed that line – plus, it forces me to be more creative in the words I use.

7. I love lists and I love talking about myself.
    So this has been a great joy 🙂

And finally….. this brings me to my nominations!  Seriously, I have been so overwhelmed by the talent I’ve found on WordPress.  These are all folks that I follow and like for different reasons, and they’re about as diverse as you can get (I stopped at 10 just because it’s such a wonderfully even number):

Pilogic Street, a.k.a. Randel was one of my first “WordPress friends”.  His economic/political blogs are like a brain workout, they always make me think.  Also, he is full of so many good ideas that I’ve considered writing him into my ballot in November.

A Frank Angle, along with Randel, really encouraged me in my early(-ier) WordPress days, and still continues to do so.  If WordPress was Sesame Street, he’d be like Hooper’s Store.  He has a fantastic way of bringing people together.

365 From the Archive is a brilliant photographer and writer who has travelled the world and is now blogging about it, one day at a time.  I don’t know how she got to stray so far from the typical sites and out to the lives of everyday people, but her experiences and wisdom gained should be shared to all.

LeeLeegirl’s Life is just one of those pick-you-up people who, if she ever has negative thoughts, has the self-control not to share them.  Her blogs are always inspiring and encouraging, without being too “fluffy” or verbose.  She reminds me of the kind of person I used to be, and would like to be again.

CynicalDriver never ceases to amaze me with what seem to be connections to my brain.  I’ll have some opinion or way of looking at life and think, “I must be the only one out there who thinks this way.”  Then CynicalDriver will write about it – in a thought-provoking yet witty way!

Mediaevalmusings has both my dream job and my dream brain.  I’ll never know how she does it, but several times a week she’ll churn out A+ quality historical writing that would have taken me weeks to research.  She is an excellent writer and a brilliant historian, and I always look forward to her posts.

Words/Love is a fellow seeker of wisdom who both thinks deeply and writes about what she thinks about.  No one could ever argue about what she writes, because she always does so with soul-baring honesty.

Gingerfightback is absolutely “ROFL” funny, with that ironic, slightly-indecent, overstated-with-a-straight-face type of humor that just can’t ever seem to be replicated outside of the UK and Ireland.  His writing makes the forever-Anglofied part of my brain tingle.

Chiefofleast writes some really fantastic, honest, and well thought out posts about Christianity, the Bible, and everything related, without being too “churchy”.  Not that I have anything against church, but, you know, he doesn’t use the same words and catch-phrases over and over.

Abetterkuwait hasn’t posted in a while now, but I love everything she has written.  I have never been to the Middle East, and I don’t intimately know anyone from there, but she puts a face to the social and political revolutions that have been taking place in that vast and varied part of the world, and writes beautifully.

And that’s it for now!  A “real” post to follow in the next couple of days.

14 comments on “Honorable Mentions

  1. chiefofleast
    April 9, 2012

    I’m honored to be apart of the list of nominations! Peace and grace to you!

    • abtwixt
      April 10, 2012

      You are very welcome! It is well deserved 🙂

  2. gingerfightback
    April 9, 2012

    Most kind of you.

  3. aFrankAngle
    April 9, 2012

    Many thanks and for the kind words. Yo out there, I welcome visitors. …. and I look forward to visiting your recommendations as I enjoy finding a good blog!

    • abtwixt
      April 10, 2012

      I’m glad to give them! You’ve given your fair share to me already 🙂

  4. Francesca Zelnick
    April 9, 2012

    Thank you so, so, so much for the kind words!! I am truly honored. xox

    • abtwixt
      April 10, 2012

      I meant every word! 🙂 I was glad for the opportunity to give out some well deserved kudos.

  5. Randel
    April 9, 2012

    Congratulations, and thank you for the nomination. Now, I have some work to do.

    I am pretty picky about blogs, many do not connect, but I really like yours a lot. I see honest real perspective that informs. I like the youth and history. Your Tag Cloud is what caught my eye when mining WordPress; it is an excellent interesting subject mix. Keep up the good work.

    Thank you also for the feedback on my blog.

    • abtwixt
      April 10, 2012

      You are most very welcome! I’m glad that my scattered and decentralized tag cloud caught your interest 🙂 Since youth and history are both a part of me, you shall expect to see more! Thanks again for your ongoing support.

  6. unfinishedbizness
    April 10, 2012

    Can we be serious for a minute…. you truly do rock 🙂

  7. cynicaldriver
    April 10, 2012

    I feel so honored! I never expected to ever catch the attention of… well, anyone really; let alone awesome bloggers like yourself, aFrankAngle, and Randel.

    • abtwixt
      April 10, 2012

      I’m pretty sure that I found you through aFrankAngle, or maybe Randel…. I am glad to hopefully refer others to you as well!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2012 by in Autobiographical, Current Events and tagged , , , , , , , .
