abtwixt

Doing things differently since 1984

Life is a Journey (and new blog!)

When I get introspective about life, I unavoidably come back to the illustration of a path or a road.  It’s hardly an original illustration, as you can see it pop up throughout basically all of human history and literature.  Life is a journey.  But what kind of journey is it?

It’s easy to start thinking that we create our path as we go – I’ll call this the “pen to paper” philosophy.  It’d be like if life was a gigantic piece of paper, and we had pens tied to the back of our shoes: our experiences behind us have created our path leading up to this moment, and we have limitless choice before us.  For someone who likes to feel in complete control over their destiny, this can be an appealing philosophy.

Another way is to think that our paths are defined by a series of choices – I’ll call this the “plinko board” philosophy.  With a plinko board, you drop a disc in at the top.  It hits its first peg (a choice), goes left or right, hits the nearest peg on the next row, goes left or right, and so on.  Depending on which lefts and rights it takes, it ends up somewhere different at the bottom.  If you remember those “Choose Your Own Adventure” books, this would be a bit like that.  For someone who feels that life is too random and unknown to be completely in our control, this can be an appealing philosophy.

A third way is to think that our paths are a means to an end – our “destiny” or “life purpose” – I’ll call this the “corn maze” philosophy.  It’d be as though we are meandering around our lives, seemingly lost and without direction, until we find and fulfill our destiny and purpose.  I’ve read some fantastic fantasy novels with this theme.  For someone who feels lost, this can be an appealing philosophy.

I could go on with many more philosophies; everyone has their own.  For me, I know I’m not in complete control and I know I haven’t ended up where I am by utter randomness:  My path was already created, my path is always watched over, and my path ahead of me is known.  

I don’t talk very much about God or religion on this blog directly, even though I have some very well-entrenched beliefs, and that is on purpose.  Mainly, I don’t want to be pigeon-holed as a “religious” blog, alienating people who have their own, often negative, perceptions about Christians and Christianity, and also limiting what I feel I should and shouldn’t talk about.  I just want to be me, and I want people to take me for who I am, not what a massive group of people I’m somewhat associated with are like.

So, none of this is changing.  I’m keeping this blog as it is, because I like it that way.  But I am also starting a new blog, unknownnothing.wordpress.com.  There I will be talking a lot more about the One who watches my steps.  If you want to read it, great!  If you don’t, that’s fine too!  If it helps, I’ve started it out with the gripping tale of when I broke my neck.  I’m doing this mainly for my own benefit, so that I don’t forget what my path is really all about.

10 comments on “Life is a Journey (and new blog!)

  1. Alex Jones
    April 17, 2012

    All three positions could be right. There is a Viking philosophy called the Wyrd, which is of three women weavers who weave three threads: what has happened; what is happening; what was meant to happen – all which impact the moment of every living thing.

    • abtwixt
      April 17, 2012

      Thanks for the comment Alex! I agree with you — I hope that I didn’t give the impression that I thought any or all of those three philosophies are wrong. I think there are certain aspects of all of these that are “correct”, if you could call it that. The beauty of the illustration of the path is that one path is different from another, and even two people on the same path can see it very differently. My aim was to make people think 🙂

      • Alex Jones
        April 17, 2012

        It was a good post, and you made me think.

  2. Randel
    April 17, 2012

    I think I am in the Plinko game, and have been lucky it has not gone off completely to the side. But then maybe God has reached in to adjust the game, so I look forward to your new blog.

    • abtwixt
      April 18, 2012

      God is often pretty good about making sure we don’t plummet off the deep end, if we let Him 😉 Thanks for the read, the comment, and the encouragement!

  3. aFrankAngle
    April 18, 2012

    Of the three, I’m more of the paper and pen type. Our past does shape us, yet we have many paths ahead for choices – choices, good and bad, that are up to us to make

    • abtwixt
      April 18, 2012

      If I had to take a guess, I would think that the majority of people would ascribe to something like the pen-to-paper philosophy. My favorite part of it is the optimism associated with it 🙂 Thanks for your input!

  4. cynicaldriver
    April 29, 2012

    “Pen and Paper”

    I have to be this one, because it is a clever way of stating a philosophy of mine:
    “You can’t be who you are, until you’ve been who you were.”

  5. Lucas
    May 2, 2012

    I definitely sympathize with you on the difficulties in running a blog when you don’t necessarily want to be camped into the “religious” category. Mine started out like that, but a lot of my recent stuff is on Byzantium and the Middle Ages, because that is the community where most of my reader base comes from. It’s a fine balancing line of not going too far either way, but not one that I really enjoy. However, I couldn’t do two blogs, as I can barely write in the one I do have. I’m curious to see how your attempt at having both will turn out.

    • abtwixt
      May 3, 2012

      Hi Lucas, thanks for your comment and your support! I am finding it a little bit challenging having the two blogs, but in the end it just seems to mean I write in each about half as often as I used to! It does get a bit tricky when writing not in a diary, but in a public sphere as this… complicated, but fun 🙂 I enjoy your blog, so keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2012 by in Christianity, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , .
