abtwixt

Doing things differently since 1984

Bring On Autumn

Just because I like to be inconsistent, I’m not going to do a ground-breaking post today.  No new ideas here.  While the internet fills up with talk of politics, war, climate change, terrorism, crime, and tragedy, I wanted to make sure I didn’t forget something much more satisfying… Autumn (Fall) is here!!  And to give it a deserving welcome, I wanted to make a photo tribute to Why I love Autumn (note: photo credits can be found by clicking on the images):

AUTUMN IS BEAUTIFUL.  My husband always mocks that autumn is the season of dying… Vegetation is dying everywhere.  To me, that makes it more beautiful.  How often do we think of death as beautiful?  Yet, that is how our world presents it to us every year.

 

WEATHER.  Maybe some people really like the hot, muggy, sweaty days of summer.  I am not one of them.  Bring on the crisp, cool, clear days of autumn!

NEW BEGINNINGS.  When I was in school, autumn was my real New Year, along with all my resolutions to do a better job at life.  I’m past school now, but the air of newness still comes at the start of the school year.

 

FASHION.  In the summer, we’re all trying to shed as many clothes as possible while remaining decent.  But with the cooler weather, we can layer up and dress how we want.  For me, that means the two best accessories — coats and boots!

CORN MAZES.  Corn mazes are one of those simple delights that make me feel like I’m 5 again.  I don’t care if they’re cheesy, if you can see through or over them, if they spell out something clever or not.  It’s a perfect picture of childhood.

 

HALLOWEEN.   The Season of Celebrating begins with two of life’s greatest delights: candy and costumes.

1ST WED OF NOV.  Election Day is OVER!  This isn’t a holiday, but it should be.  Everyone can go back to being friends now, and it’s safe to turn your tv on again!

 

THANKSGIVING.  The historical legitimacy of this holiday is dodgy at best, but that’s mostly irrelevant.  Consider it a made-up holiday celebrating togetherness.  It’s my second favorite holiday of the year.

CHRISTMAS.  OK, I know Christmas is technically in the winter.  But, the celebrations begin way back into the autumn.  This is hands-down my favorite time of year.  To me, Christmas stands for everything Good in this world.

 

TOGETHERNESS.  Whether it’s because all of the holidays, the cooler weather, or the passing of the activity-filled summer, autumn to me is a season of togetherness.  So regardless of whether you like autumn, grab a loved one or a few and cozy up together while the leaves start falling.

17 comments on “Bring On Autumn

  1. aFrankAngle
    September 12, 2012

    After the dog days of summer, autumn is so refreshing. Gotta love your comments about Election Day.

    • abtwixt
      September 14, 2012

      Haha, I must say that as much as I look forward to the other holidays that are coming up in the next few months, Nov 7th is almost overshadowing them at the moment. I’m starting to have trouble remembering what people talked about before campaign season!

      • aFrankAngle
        September 14, 2012

        At least you don’t live in a swing state!

        • abtwixt
          September 14, 2012

          I feel your pain! Though, at least you have the consolation that your vote may actually sway the political system, as opposed to a more solid state like mine where so many blindly vote for the same party as to render all other votes useless (until we get down to the congressional districts!)

          • aFrankAngle
            September 14, 2012

            🙂 …. or we could be like Kansas where the Secretary of State is considering removing Obama from the ballot.

            • abtwixt
              September 14, 2012

              Wow, I had to look that one up. See what I mean… I may have thought perfectly wonderful things about Kansas until now. If crises can bring out the best in people, I think elections can bring out the worst.

  2. Three Well Beings
    September 12, 2012

    Oh very nice! I think you’ve given me a nice way to think about fall…I am one of those “hold onto summer” gals, but even I am starting to think it’s time for a change. I think! 🙂 Your beautiful photos and thoughts definitely help! Debra

    • abtwixt
      September 14, 2012

      Thanks for the comment, and I’m glad to help you welcome the new season with open arms 🙂 Sorry for the late response!

  3. Randel
    September 14, 2012

    Really great ideas in this post. Nice job. Never thought about the beauty of dying and how fall shows that. Great insight. I too grew up liking September because all was new with school, friends etc. I got bored by the Summer days by middle July. Years ago I would have said Summer was my favorite season, but now I like the fact winter is coming. That will sound weird, but with winter, after Christmas, there are absolutely no expectations of anything. It is completely a season of rest. Here in Wisconsin winters are brutal, but oddly as I grow older I like it here better. As a younger person I longed to live in the South with long summers and mild winters. It is amazing how you change, and your post made me think of that. I love posts that make me think internally. Thank you. Great picture selection.

    • abtwixt
      September 17, 2012

      Thank you for the thoughtful reply, you have made me ponder doing a similar post for winter (also an excellent season, I must say). I like the idea of the “season without expectations”. Having lived in places with brutal winters, mild winters, and places in between, I can say that you are not missing much by not experiencing a mild winter. They come across [to me] as a disappointment, like a kite that never quite flies. Then again, the child within me that still gets excited about the possibility of snow may still be lingering on moreso than in most adults.

      • Randel
        September 17, 2012

        Yours is one of the best blogs out there. I have very few that I follow unless they put new ideas into my head, say something I find really new, and yours does. Keep up the great work. I find blogging more difficult each day on my site. It is difficult to write originally, and what I write about does not attract that much interest. With Fall just about here, I am actually thinking of letting this hobby go. I will still visit the best blog s and comment, but I am realizing my limitations as a writer. You find good pictures and graphics too that match your writing. I like that too. As an economist I am stuck really in a bad profession that has lost credit, and when writing it seems to cramp what you can write about. You are either naively positive or just depressing, and not many folks like either. Yours covers a much nicer range of topics, an idea I ponder versus closing my site down. If you have any ideas on improving my blog, my ears are welcome.

        • abtwixt
          September 18, 2012

          Thank you very much for the compliments! I wish there were many more like you, who seek new ideas rather than a reinforcement of older ones. Unfortunately, it seems that by a great majority, people seek the latter, whether they admit it or not. I am sometimes among them. I have learned a lot from your blog and would be sad to see it go, though of course the choice is always yours. We bloggers have no reason to blog if not for our own enjoyment.

          If it is only low readership that is getting you down, I would recommend using the WordPress topic search (http://wordpress.com/#!/read/topics/), finding blogs that you like and may have something in common with yours, and going on a commenting/liking/following spree. When I feel up to it, I’ve found this to be both enlightening and very helpful for finding new interested readers. I have found some excellent writing this way.

  4. aFrankAngle
    September 21, 2012

    BTW – My OITS video today is a great match for this post. 🙂

  5. Randel
    October 1, 2012

    When do Autumn colors peak your way? They are fabulous up here this year right now, probably the best in many years.

    • abtwixt
      October 2, 2012

      We are only starting to enjoy cool mornings here, so the Best of Autumn is still probably 3-4 weeks away. I’m glad to hear that the summer drought hasn’t tainted the beauty of the season for you!

  6. Pingback: Check Your Passions | abtwixt

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 11, 2012 by in Holidays, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
