abtwixt

Doing things differently since 1984

What is your End of the World personality type?

I had an interesting dream last night about the end of the world….  This was probably brought on by my many recent evenings watching Doctor Who, in which the end of the world is about to happen rather frequently, but that’s no matter.

Now, the world didn’t end in my dream.  I woke up too soon for that.  Instead, I entered a world where everyone knew that everything was about to end that night — some massive storm or something.

End-of-the-worldI’ve already noted on here before how many people seem to be itching for an apocalypse, whether it be displayed in the whole Mayan calendar scare, the Harold Camping nonsense, or something more scientifically oriented like a zombie apocalypse or global warming or nuclear holocaust.  Perhaps we will see a major disaster in our lifetimes… certainly many will face their own personal disasters.  Have you ever wondered how you’d react, if it was something completely unstoppable?  These are the behavioral reactions I observed in my dream, see if you can identify who you’d be, or if my dream missed your personality altogether:

1. The Quiet Ones. There were quite a few people who were just frozen in place, not knowing what to do, sometimes staring at the news and other times just sitting there watching the sky.  Some seemed like they might be deep in thought or prayer.  Some looked like families huddled together, others were alone.  I started my dream in some kind of community building and there were probably more of this type than any other.

2. The Partiers.  There were some who resigned themselves to the fact that there was nothing they could do, so they wanted to make the most of their last day.  I saw people gathered in the streets dressed in odd clothes, clumped together in groups dancing and hollering.

3. The Preachers.  Not surprisingly, there were others who took to travelling between the groups and individuals scattered around, encouraging them to consider their souls and make amends with their Maker.  Also not surprisingly, they found more listening ears than they normally would.

4. The Deniers.  At one point during the dream, I had to make a run to K-Mart (why K-Mart? Who knows) to get a few things, and I was surprised to find the place rather busy — not with panicked people, but people milling about with their shopping carts as if everything was normal, comparing prices on household items and looking at birthday cards.  In the dream I wondered if they actually thought nothing would happen, or if they just enjoyed pretending so.

5. The Overseers. One thing that wasn’t happening in the dream was mass hysteria or chaos.  The community building I started out in had clearly been pre-designated as a place of prolonged protection, and in the streets I saw no crime or panic.  Everyone was clearly being looked after and kept informed.  Thus, though I never met any in person, there were clearly overseers working behind the scenes, even up to the last day.

Personally, I must have been a Denier, because I didn’t feel much impending doom and still ended up doing some shopping at K-Mart.  How about you — what would your personality type be?  Or would you have been some type of person I didn’t encounter in my dream?

13 comments on “What is your End of the World personality type?

  1. mobius faith
    January 9, 2013

    Hmmmm interesting dream and question. Not sure where I would fall. I would like to think I’d be blend of the “quiet ones” , the “preacher” and the “overseer”. Because I would want to be the calm in the storm retaining some sense of self-control and trying to calm others. Who knows – maybe I’d just be a basket-case. I actually have come to question the whole “end of the world” notion. THey’ve been floating around for millennia and have never come to pass.

    • abtwixt
      January 10, 2013

      Thanks for commenting — an interesting way to see yourself acting in such a situation. I can certainly understand your doubts… the boy who cried ‘wolf’ and all of that. Since I’ve already announced myself as a Doctor Who fan, I’ll go ahead and out-geek myself with a quote from the Doctor himself:
      “You lot. You spend all your time thinking about dying. Like you’re gonna get killed by eggs or beef or global warming or asteroids. But you never take time to imagine the impossible. That maybe you survive. This is the year 5.5/Apple/26. 5 billion years in your future. And this is the day…hold on…This is the day the Sun expands. Welcome to the end of the world.”

  2. aFrankAngle
    January 9, 2013

    I think I’ll add a category … actually a job description … the greeter at K-Mart. 😉 When not on duty there, I would be one of the overseers.

    • abtwixt
      January 10, 2013

      Thanks for the extra category – nice one!! Does K-Mart even have greeters? I’ve got to admit that outside the dream it’s probably been over a year since I stepped foot in one….

      • aFrankAngle
        January 10, 2013

        K-Mart normally doesn’t have greeters. But given the circumstances of your dream, I could debut the position for them.

  3. gingerfightback
    January 10, 2013

    Cack me pants!

  4. Randel
    January 11, 2013

    I think I would be in your Denier camp but for a different reason all together. It would not be because I was denying the event, but the fact the bible says we are to be prepared to “deplanet” at any time, meaning go about your business and trust in the Lord. So I would probably stay here putzing on the computer or shopping somewhere, and oh yes hugging my wife.

    By the way how did you come up with this graphic? Do you use some kind of graphics program? Which one?

    • abtwixt
      January 12, 2013

      Thanks for commenting — I like your self-analysis!

      As with all the graphics I post on here, by clicking on it you can find where I found it — unless I created it myself, or got it from my fully licensed version of Microsoft Office. This graphic happens to have a link. Thanks for asking, and also for assuming I have the talent to come up with it myself 😉

  5. sedeer
    January 12, 2013

    I like the idea of making the most of the last hours/days, but “partier” doesn’t seem like an appropriate description for what I have in mind. How about a satisfying dinner in the company of loved ones or a bracing hike with dear friends followed by a swim in a crisp, cold lake?

    • abtwixt
      January 14, 2013

      Sounds excellent! Count me in 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2013 by in Philosophy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
