abtwixt

Doing things differently since 1984

Abtwixt is back!

It is with great irony that I rise back from the ashes on here only when I am back at work… it seems that “work” offers infinitely greater spare time to write than “staying at home”.  I ask that all readers make careful note of this when judging the diligence (i.e. how hard they work) of one vs the other.

Yes, that is right, after writing such an inspirational speech about it, I have moved back into my previous life as an administrative superstar.  Finances required it, and, sadly, we all must make whatever life changes are necessary to please the will of the almighty Dollar.  I will restrain from complaining about it though, as it actually took an exceeding amount of effort to make happen, and I have great sympathy for those who are seeking jobs but not finding them.

What is interesting is I am now entering a new arena that I have never before played in: that of a dual-income family.  Some people seem to be experts here; they both work yet find time to cook, play with the kids outside for a while, bring them in, have baths, and get them to bed at a decent hour, while still being able to wake up and do their hair and makeup in the morning.  Let me say I am no expert.  I’m still wondering how I’m ever going to do laundry during the week again.  My current hope is that it will be a bit like FreeCell or Spider Solitaire, where it looks like an impossible mess until you learn to make sense of it all.  Or maybe I’ll just be buying a lot of Red Bull.

I'm just kidding.  I'm more of a tea person.

I’m just kidding. I’m more of a tea person.

On the bright side, I’m back in an environment where I get to listen to music at work.  I generally default to “I’ll listen to whatever”, but having the freedom to choose what I really want to listen to has revealed to me that I have a surprisingly old-fashioned taste in music.  Suddenly I don’t feel like listening to anything newer than Frank Sinatra, unless it’s instrumental or melts your heart like butter.  This isn’t to say I don’t like anything else, but I suppose it furthers my proud lifelong career of being “different”.  And yes, I write this at the same time as I am eating salad with a spoon.

Image

My salad wasn’t this fancy, but you get the idea.

Anyway, all this was really just to say, “Hey, I’m back!”  As a boring side note, you may have noticed that “abtwixt.com” is gone.  If I can actually get myself back into blogging properly, it will probably be back up again within a couple months, but for now please visit me at abtwixt.wordpress.com.  🙂

11 comments on “Abtwixt is back!

  1. aFrankAngle
    April 2, 2013

    Well now – this is a pleasant surprise because I figured that you were gone from the blog world. Nonetheless, welcome back! …. and yes, you are still able to get satire on Wednesdays, Opinions in the Shorts on Fridays, and Monday Morning Entertainment.

    • abtwixt
      April 2, 2013

      I extend my sincerest apologies to you and to the other blogs I used to so faithfully read and comment on — I have just not had the time! But I do hope to be able to get back on task with all my favo[u]rite reading!

      • aFrankAngle
        April 2, 2013

        No apologies necessary … after all, sometime life just gets in the way.

  2. Write in the Wrong Way
    April 2, 2013

    I’m glad to see you’re back as well, although you might not recognize me with the new blog name…

    Either way, welcome to the administrative world. I recently got a new job as an admin myself and have been really enjoying it! As far as the two-income home goes… it is a struggle! Laundry during the week for us consists of “moving” it once each day. Meaning something sits in the wash and in the dryer until the evening then it gets rotated. LOL

    • abtwixt
      April 3, 2013

      *squints* Is that you, unfinishedbizness?? Why a big hello to you as well! I was wondering where you had scampered off to…
      And here is a toast to the admins of the world, the nets who catch all the scraps that have been pushed off of everyone else’s to-do lists! *clink*

      • Write in the Wrong Way
        April 3, 2013

        *clink* indeed! And yes, now that I have deleted and obliterated the old blog, it is me!! New and hopefully improved 🙂

  3. gingerfightback
    April 3, 2013

    Nice to hear from you!

    • abtwixt
      April 3, 2013

      Many thanks! It’s good to be back!

  4. Randel
    April 3, 2013

    Glad to see you are back. Two earner families with kids is a rough one; that is what my step son is going through. Just expect a mess. One way is to dump some stuff on the grandparents 🙂 We gladly like having the kids over even though it is hard work and lots of fun all at the same time. And keep the interneting at work to a minimum. Where I work they just told us the IT director can takeover your machine to do any upgrades and see what you are working on. Big brother lurks.

    Welcome back. On my site I changed it a bit to just pictures and short opinion items as maintainig a major blog like Frank can do is quite the challenge. I figure he must put in 40 hours doing it all.

    • abtwixt
      April 4, 2013

      Haha, grandparents are a great idea, sadly my kids’ grandparents live half a country away! Though I have no doubt they would jump at the chance should it be made available to them… I agree, maintaining a page as well as Frank is probably a full time job!! Best of luck with your new site — I know it has been troubling you for some time what to do with your space that will bring you the right amount of satisfaction!

  5. steverusuk
    April 5, 2013

    … good to have you back AB.

    My latest post was written for my nephew’s Christening next weekend. Not sure if its your ‘thing’ but you have liked some of my rants before…

    http://twoinbush.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/the-observer/

    Best wishes, Steve

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2013 by in Autobiographical, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
