abtwixt

Doing things differently since 1984

Time for a Pick-Me-Up

When a tragedy strikes us unexpectedly like the one that took place in Boston yesterday, it makes us pause and consider our humanity – its frailty, its potential for evil deeds, and also its spirit of compassion.  I have seen all of these demonstrated in the last 24 hours.

I have seen such an outpouring of mourning and sympathy over the lives and innocence lost, it has at times been overwhelming.  I considered adding to it, but instead decided to celebrate life – one more thing that we all share as human beings, and that we all have the privilege to enjoy for some time or another.   I’ve compiled a shortlist of little things that I think make life worth celebrating… do you have any to add?:

happy11.       Hugs

Hug a friend, hug a partner, hug a child, hug an animal… either way, I think hugs make life that much sweeter.

 

 

happy2

 

2.       Sunshine sneaking through trees

Because sometimes we need to be reminded that even something as common as sunlight can be beautiful.

 

 

 

 

happy3

 

3.       That feeling of accomplishment

It doesn’t matter if you’ve just climbed Mount Everest, or finally got ALL the laundry done; that swelling sense of pride and relief is better than medicine.

 

 

happy44.       Giving

This word is too often used to mean money… But the best kind of giving – whether it is a heartfelt gift, a compliment, or an evening of your time – is the kind that travels direct from one person’s heart to another.  I’ve never met a frequent giver of this kind who doesn’t enjoy life.

 

 

happy55.       Humor

Let’s admit it – we can get mushy all we want, but humor makes life edible in our worst times, and absolutely scrumptious in our best.

 

 

 

 

 

happy66.       Game Night

It doesn’t matter if you’re running around a field or sitting around a table (the second one for me, thanks!) – “go play with your friends” is not only to be said to children.  Just don’t take it too seriously!

 

 

 

 

happy77.       Bacon

I’m just kidding.  I don’t like bacon.  But a lot of people seem to….

7 comments on “Time for a Pick-Me-Up

  1. gingerfightback
    April 16, 2013

    Terrible news – my thoughts are with the victims.

    • abtwixt
      April 17, 2013

      Many thanks — my best hope is that this won’t lead us into another war.

  2. Three Well Beings
    April 17, 2013

    Very nicely conveyed. Such a deeply sad time. And you’re so right…for some people, bacon salves a lot of inner pain. 🙂

    • abtwixt
      April 17, 2013

      I must admit, I never knew so many were a fan of bacon until fairly recently… it’s not my favorite, but I’m definitely in favor of anything so simple that can bring so much joy! 🙂

      • Three Well Beings
        April 17, 2013

        I’m not a bacon fan, either, but it sure is popular! I have friends who subscribe to “Bacon of the Month” clubs! LOL! And I agree…simple pleasures aren’t to be taken lightly!

  3. aFrankAngle
    April 17, 2013

    A good message for any time. And while you are doing these, keep your mouth fresh.

    • abtwixt
      April 17, 2013

      LOL, I am actually a little bit surprised that this product hasn’t hit the real markets. People are crazy enough to buy it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2013 by in Current Events, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
