abtwixt

Doing things differently since 1984

The Meaning of ‘ABTwixt’… and a big announcement

I must start off by apologizing for my absence lately… I’ll explain later in this post why I’ve been so quiet.   I have absolutely no intention to abandon the blogosphere yet.

When I originally came up with the name ABTwixt, I was a working mom floating between social classes, and that seemed like a good enough excuse.  But there was a much broader reason.  Anyone who has really been paying attention to my blog will know that I have deep roots set in the UK, having spent several years of my early adulthood there, as well as marrying there.  I find it quite amusing that in the US, my ethnicity is “European”, but in the UK, my ethnicity is “White – other (NOT European)”.   Such has been my experience ever since I first made a home for myself over there – too ‘British’ to be American, too American to be British.  I’m in between – or, as a [probably British] person might have said a century or two ago, I’m betwixt the two.

In-Between

So why am I bringing this up now?  Because at this very moment, I am sitting halfway between my old home in Atlanta and my hopeful future home in the UK — we aim to move back there in a permanent sort of way.  In actuality, I feel much more at home there than I do here, even if I do stick out like a sore American thumb.  Hopefully the citizens of the UK will continue to find my American quirks – such as my lack of subtlety and unnecessary showmanship – to be endearing, or at least tolerable.  And, hopefully, they will know to distance their opinions of me from their opinions of my government as much as possible.

If you were paying any attention to the title, you might think that my Big Move is the big announcement.  …and, you’d be right.  However, I also have a SECOND big announcement: I write music!  Or, rather, I wrote music, back when I had the time and creative excess to do such things.  With the Big Move, I’ve rediscovered a piece I wrote 7 years ago, which remains surprisingly appropriate (note: “you” was meant to be directed toward friends and the place in general, and no-one in particular).  So please bear with me, as I’ve crudely recorded a rendition of the piece for your amusement.  I promise this isn’t a cry for attention; this is my blog and this song means a lot to me right now.  But please be aware:

1)      I’m not a professional recording artist

2)      I don’t have professional recording software or equipment

3)      I had to get EVERYthing right(-ish) in ONE SINGLE recording, so it’s not perfect.  Then I was too lazy to edit it.

4)      Yes, I wrote and performed both the vocal and piano parts to this.

5)      I’m not a professional recording artist.

 

If you care to follow along, you can see the lyrics here.

 

So, in case you missed it, I’ve been quiet because I’ve been busy uprooting myself from my previous abode, and dealing with a rather sudden transition from the US to the UK.  Although this is something we have wanted to do for quite some time, it is only very recent that we got pushed into action.  I have no intention to turn this into a blog about my move… we should be back to our regularly scheduled programming before too long.  Thanks for bearing with me!

25 comments on “The Meaning of ‘ABTwixt’… and a big announcement

  1. Sarcasticus Rex
    October 12, 2013

    Congrats on your move and music! Both sound great. Enjoyed the lyrics as well. 🙂

    • abtwixt
      October 12, 2013

      Thank you very much! I debated whether posting this would border too much on narcissism, but I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  2. lbtk
    October 12, 2013

    I took a hiatus myself for personal reasons the first six months of the year. Now that I’ve regrouped, I’d wondered where you were. NOW I know. I don’t think it’s narcissism — I think sharing talent is important. The thing I loved about the lyrics and music is that neither is like anything I’ve heard before — which is good. A lot of times songs I hear have no messages and sound like every other one on the radio. Great job. Loved it. Maybe someone in the music biz will here it and we can say “We knew you when….” Sandy

    • abtwixt
      October 12, 2013

      Thank you for your compliments and encouragement! However, I do not think fame and fortune would suit me 😉 I’ll stick to being by myself with a piano.

  3. Steve
    October 12, 2013

    This post makes me miss ya
    Steve (husband of ABT)

    • Steve
      October 12, 2013

      Not that I didn’t anyway…

  4. Raymond Salzman
    October 13, 2013

    0

  5. Raymond Salzman
    October 13, 2013

    Thank you for the information and song, we enjoyed it very much. May the Lord Bless, Keep, Guide and Direct you and your family in all your endeavors. Grandpa Ray and Elsie
    .

  6. gingerfightback
    October 13, 2013

    Welcome back – Ma Fightback likes your song!

    • abtwixt
      October 14, 2013

      Hey I appreciate it! Tell MaFB she’ll get a free copy if I ever bother taking it to a studio 🙂

  7. aFrankAngle
    October 13, 2013

    Congratulations on the move as it seems you are following your heart. Meanwhile, I know you’ll stop by for Friday OITS when you can. Thanks for the recording! 😀

    • abtwixt
      October 14, 2013

      Thank you indeed! And you know I’d never willingly deprive myself of your OITS, it’s better than the Sunday paper! And yeah, you can quote me on that 😉

  8. Three Well Beings
    October 14, 2013

    I really enjoyed your music and you have a lovely voice and talent. The move sounds exciting and I hope the adjustment is smooth for each of you!

    • abtwixt
      October 14, 2013

      Thank you very much! I have truly been overwhelmed by everyone’s support and encouragement!

  9. Teija
    October 17, 2013

    Wow, it has been years since I’ve really heard you sing, that’s a sound I’ve missed! The song is beautiful. Is there a reason you can’t apply for your UK visa before you head over with the kids and just get it all knocked out in one transatlantic flight?

    • abtwixt
      October 17, 2013

      Wow, thanks! And, yeah, the reason is money 😦 We neither have enough for the visa fees, nor enough income to qualify to get it in the first place.

      • Teija
        October 17, 2013

        Argh, what a bummer. Well, you guys will get there and years and years from now you’ll look back at the messiness of the process as just a memory.

  10. hyunhochang
    October 28, 2013

    Good for you for putting your work out there. Makes you a braver person than me 🙂

    • abtwixt
      November 1, 2013

      Many thanks; I am heartened by how well received it was! Let that serve as encouragement for you to be brave in the future 🙂

  11. Pingback: Hobbits and Hard Times | abtwixt

  12. Pingback: When Everything Changes | abtwixt

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2013 by in Autobiographical, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
