abtwixt

Doing things differently since 1984

When Everything Changes

*Shuffles nervously up to microphone* Umm, so, I haven’t been around much lately… sorry for that.  I assure you it’s not because I’ve had nothing to say.  Quite the opposite, really.  Instead, I’ve had nothing to say that I CAN say in a medium so brazenly public as WordPress… or the internet anywhere, really.

That’s a rant for another day, folks – privacy on the Internet doesn’t exist.  You can’t fight this fact.  Your choices are to go off the grid, or to learn the age-old wisdom of keeping your mouth shut.  Funny how many people seem to think the 1st option sounds the most realistic.  Can’t say I blame them.  Here, I found a helpful graph to illustrate this point:

InternetPrivacy_591

Anyway, so to say things without saying them – my life has been drastically and permanently altered in the past month or so.  For one, my aspirations to emigrate are now out.  Like, totally out.  Instead, what I had intended to be a new beginning in the UK has ended up being a new beginning in the Northeast USA.  A new beginning not only in terms of where I am, but who I am, and what my lot is in life.  I have entered the formerly far-removed world of single motherhood.

a-road-less-travelledNot many people get a chance to hit the Reset button on their lives – or, rather, it is a task so daunting that few choose it unless their hand is forced.  This… was not really of my choosing.  However, I do have the choice of riding this wave or being swept underneath, and I am making the deliberate choice to ride it.  I don’t do ‘drowning’ so well.

It’s funny – on this blog, and in life in general, I try to advocate as much as possible the importance of truly listening to every type of person.  This especially includes those with whom we [think we] disagree, or have no common ground.  My reasoning thus far has been that we all have a lot more in common than we think we do.  Yet, in light of recent events, I have added another very real reason to make sure we branch out – because overnight, any one of us can find ourselves in a place we never thought we’d be.

This isn’t to say I ever was at-odds with single moms in any way; but I never thought I would be one, either.  When you say, “I would never…”, it is an entirely untested theory subject to the massive curveballs life can throw at you, at any age.  With this in mind… could you imagine if I’d devoted years of my life decrying that single-parent households are the bane of our society?  What foolishness!  “Do unto others as you would have them do to you” can have a very practical meaning when you consider you could very realistically find yourself in ‘their’ shoes – whoever ‘they’ might be.

iStock_000016346794XSmall

Anyway, apparently I’m in a soapbox kind of mood… so much for the wisdom of keeping my mouth shut.  What I meant to say is, I’m still here!  A lot has changed, but I refuse to think it’s all for the worst, and I honestly feel like everything is going to be OK.  A heartfelt thanks goes out to all who have been so supportive of me in this time of transition.  Peace!

6 comments on “When Everything Changes

  1. aFrankAngle
    June 18, 2014

    Well now, you have thrown me for a bit of a loop … then again, that’s minor compared to the change in your life. To me, you seem bright and confident, so I’m confident that you will meet this next challenge head on and with your chin up.

    Meanwhile, now that’s one helpful Venn Diagram!

    • abtwixt
      June 18, 2014

      Many thanks for your encouragement! And I do hope to stop throwing people for loops… any day now. Glad you liked the venn — the best things in life are amusing AND utterly true 😉

      • aFrankAngle
        June 18, 2014

        The loop is OK … after all, our connection is more virtual, so how would I know. Meanwhile … be strong and press on!

  2. gingerfightback
    June 18, 2014

    Best of luck!

  3. Pingback: After Everything Changes | abtwixt

Leave a Reply

